STATEMENT OF CHAIRMAN AJIT PAI

Re: Inquiry Concerning Deployment of Advanced Telecommunications Capability to All Americans in a Reasonable and Timely Fashion, GN Docket No. 17-199.

In Section 706 of the Telecommunications Act of 1996, Congress tasked the Commission with encouraging the deployment of broadband on a reasonable and timely basis and issuing an annual report on our progress. This report carries out this statutory responsibility.

The report maintains the same benchmark speed for fixed broadband service previously adopted by the Commission, which we earlier proposed to retain: 25 Mbps download/3 Mbps upload. The report also concludes that mobile broadband service is not a full substitute for fixed service. Instead, it notes there are differences between the two technologies, including clear variations in consumer preferences and demands. As a result, the report evaluates progress in deploying fixed broadband service as well as progress in deploying mobile broadband service and takes a holistic approach to evaluating the deployment of these services.

The report also indicates that the pace of both fixed and mobile broadband deployment declined dramatically in the two years following the prior Commission's *Title II Order*. However, the report also discusses how, over the course of the past year, the current Commission has taken steps to reduce barriers to infrastructure investment and promote competition in the broadband marketplace. Taken together, these policies indicate that the current FCC is now meeting its statutory mandate to encourage the deployment of broadband on a reasonable and timely basis.

But while we are now headed in the right direction, we have much to do. Far too many Americans still lack access to high-speed Internet. That's why the FCC's top priority under my leadership remains bridging the digital divide and bringing digital opportunity to all Americans.

Many staff members have been hard at work to bring you this report today: from the Wireline Competition Bureau: Adam Copeland, Nicole Desbois, Lauren Garry, Trent Harkrader, Alex Johns, Dan Kahn, Pam Megna, Kris Monteith, Steve Rosenberg, Arielle Roth, and John Visclosky; from the Wireless Telecommunications Bureau: Monica DeLong, Judith Dempsey, Chas Eberle, Nese Guendelsberger, Kate Matraves, Don Stockdale, Patrick Sun, Matt Warner, and Joe Wyer; from the International Bureau: Stacey Ashton, Denise Coca, Ena Dekanic, Jerry Duvall, Francis Gutierrez, Gabrielle Kim, Heidi Kroll, Arthur Lechtman, Michael Mullinix, Kerry Murray, Jim Schlichting, Walt Strack, Thomas Sullivan, Jacqueline (Lindsay) Tello, and Michele Wu-Bailey; from the Office of General Counsel: Billy Layton, Rick Mallen, Linda Oliver, William Richardson; and from the Office of Strategic Planning and Policy: Paul Lafontaine and Sean Sullivan.