CHRISTOPHER R. HIXON, STAFF DIRECTOR MARGARET E. DAUM, MINORITY STAFF DIRECTOR 755

JOHN McCAIN, ARIZONA ROB PORTMAN, OHIO RAND PAUL, KENTUCKY JAMES LANKFORD, OKLAHOMA MICHAEL B. ENZI, WYOMING JOHN HOEVEN, NORTH DAKOTA STEVE DAINES, MONTANA CLAIRE McCASKILL, MISSOURI THOMAS R. CARPER, DELAWARE JON TESTER, MONTANA HEIDI HEITKAMP, NORTH DAKOTA GARY C. PETERS, MICHIGAN MARGARET WOOD HASSAN, NEW HAMPSHIRE KAMALA D. HARRIS. CALIFORNIA

United States Senate

COMMITTEE ON
HOMELAND SECURITY AND GOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS
WASHINGTON, DC 20510–6250

September 15, 2017

The Honorable Ajit Pai Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, D.C. 20554

Ms. Vickie Robinson Acting CEO and General Counsel Universal Service Administrative Company 700 12th Street NW, Suite 900 Washington, D.C. 20005

Dear Chairman Pai and Ms. Robinson:

Thank you for testifying at the September 14, 2017 hearing of the Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs titled "FCC's Lifeline Program: A Case Study of Government Waste and Mismanagement." Based on the testimony you provided, we believe there is a need for the Federal Communications Commission and the Universal Service Administrative Company to initiate forensic audits of the top 30 Eligible Telecommunication Carriers. By taking this immediate action, you will identify actual waste, fraud, and abuse to support appropriate enforcement actions and make necessary policy changes to protect taxpayer dollars. When deciding how to initiate these audits, whether through third-party auditors or other means, we request you take every reasonable step to minimize the cost to taxpayers.

We ask that you please follow up with the Committee about your actions in this regard as soon as possible but no later than 5:00 p.m. on October 13, 2017. Please contact us or have your staff contact Michael Lueptow with Senator Johnson's staff at (202) 224-4751 or Claudine Brenner with Senator McCaskill's staff at (202) 224-2627 with any questions. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Ron Johnson

Chairman

Claire McCaskill Ranking Member

Cashio

The Honorable Ajit Pai Ms. Vickie Robinson September 15, 2017 Page 2

cc: The Honorable Mignon Clyburn

Commissioner

Federal Communications Commission

The Honorable Michael O'Rielly Commissioner Federal Communications Commission

The Honorable Jessica Rosenworcel Commissioner Federal Communications Commission

The Honorable Brendan Carr Commissioner Federal Communications Commission