## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

827

October 04, 2017

Chairman Ajit Pai and Commissioner Mignon Clyburn Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street SW Washington, DC 20554

Dear Chairman Pai and Commissioner Clyburn,

We write to bring to your attention a major concern for public safety and the exploitation of contraband cell phones in prisons.

The possession and use of contraband cell phones in correctional facilities across the country continues to pose safety risks to the public, correctional staff, and inmates. Although many devices are intercepted, some make it through to inmates.

On a daily basis, contraband cell phones are used nationwide by inmates to plan attacks and intimidate victims, witnesses, and correctional staff. In addition, they are used to promote the distribution of controlled substances and weapons, further criminal enterprises, and engage in gang activity. In many states, inmate use of contraband cell phones has even cost lives.

Given the growing public safety concerns (more cell phones are seized each year), this is an issue of critical importance which requires solutions sooner rather than later.

There are some in Congress who would like to impose a solution directed by Congressional mandate. That should be done only as a last resort, given that the FCC and cellular providers have the necessary technical experience to address problems which Corrections officials, rather than Congress, can best describe, due to their first-hand, practical knowledge. It is our hope that through such a collaborative approach, a mutually agreeable solution can be reached.

To that end we are writing to request that the Federal Communications Commission facilitate a meeting with correction officials, members of the major cellular providers, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation within 120 days, and report back to Congress on actions to effectively block, or hamper, the use of contraband phones which inmates obtain.

Thank you for your consideration, and we look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Richard Shelby U.S. Senator

Lindsey O. Graham

Cc: Commissioner Michael O'Rielly, Commissioner Brendan Carr, and Commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel



Tim Scott U.S. Senator

Bobert Aderholt Member of Congress

Marsha Blackburn Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler

Member of Congress

Kevin Brady Member of Congress

Steve Chabot Member of Congress

John Culberson Member of Congress

Tom Cole Member of Congress Luther Strange
U.S. Senator

David Kustoff
Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Terri Sewell
Member of Congress

Anthony Brown
Member of Congress

Joe Wilson

Member of Congress

Trent Franks

Member of Congress



Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

Pete Olson Member of Congress

Diane Black Member of Congress

Mo Brooks

Member of Congress

Jeff Duncar Member of Congress

Paul A. Gosar, D.S.S. Member of Congress

Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress F. Junes Sensenbrenner Member of Congress

Mark Sanford
Member of Congress

David P. Roe, M.D. Member of Congress

Lou Barletta Member of Congress

Rick Crawford Member of Congress

Chuck Fleischmann Member of Congress

Trey Cowdy
Member of Congress

Bill Johnson Member of Congress



CMely Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Robert Pittenger Member of Congress

Ted S. Yohg, D.V.M. Member of Congress

Dave Brat Member of Congress

Rick W. Allen Member of Congress

udermilk Member of Congress

Latcliffe John Racliffe Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Tom Rice Member of Congress

Bradley Byrne Member of Congress

Ralph Abraham, M.D. Member of Congress

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Congress

Member of Congress

Mike Johnson Member of Congress

Steve King Member of Congress