

Federal Communications Commission 445 12<sup>th</sup> Street, S.W. Washington, D. C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

This is an unofficial announcement of Commission action. Release of the full text of a Commission order constitutes official action. See MCI v. FCC. 515 F 2d 385 (D.C. Circ 1974).

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 13, 2004

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT: Meribeth McCarrick at (202) 418-0654 Meribeth.McCarrick@fcc.gov

## ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON DIVERSITY FOR COMMUNICATIONS IN THE DIGITAL AGE ADOPTS RECOMMENDATIONS

Washington, D.C. – The Advisory Committee on Diversity for Communications in the Digital Age held its fifth meeting on Friday, December 10, 2004, at Florida Memorial College, a Historically Black College in Miami, Florida.

"I want to commend the Advisory Committee on Diversity for its vision, dedication, and hard work and thank all of the members for their selfless efforts to devise ways to foster diversity in the communications industries," said FCC Chairman Michael Powell.

During the meeting the Committee adopted recommendations from its subcommittees. Those recommendations included:

- establishing a web site that will serve as a diversity resource directory;
- modifying the Commission's current EEO rules to include separate "menus" for recruitment and for career advancement;
- urging the Commission to issue a declaratory ruling concerning foreign investment in broadcast properties that could enhance access to capital for minority entrepreneurs;
- urging the Commission to issue a policy statement that divestiture remedies should be fashioned to promote practical opportunities for small businesses, women and minorities to own and operate media and telecommunications services;
- adopting a follow-up report on the best of Best Practices to promote diversity.

The meeting was preceded by a "kick-off" event for the new "Communications Technology Supplier Diversity Business Development Program." The Supplier Diversity Program is a new industry initiative designed to support new technology introduction throughout the communications industry from businesses that meet Small Business Administration guidelines.

The Advisory Committee on Diversity for Communications in the Digital Age was formed by FCC Chairman Michael Powell in the summer of 2003. Its mission is to provide guidance to the Commission on policies and practices that could further enhance the ability of minorities and women to participate in the telecommunications and related industries. The Committee issues reports and makes recommendations concerning the need for any guidelines, incentives, regulations or other policy approaches to promote diversity of participation in the communications sector. It has also developed a description of best practices within the communications sector for promoting diversity of participation.

Members of the Federal Advisory Committee are:

Jenny Alonzo President, National Association for Multiethnicity In Communications

Decker Anstrom President, COO, Landmark Communications

Andrew Barrett Managing Director, The Barrett Group, Inc.

Matthew Blank Chairman, CEO, Showtime Networks

Maria Brennan Executive Director, American Women in Radio and Television

Benita Fitzgerald Mosley President, Women in Cable and Telecommunications

A. Anthony Gee General Partner, Carthage Venture Partners

Joan Gerberding President, Nassau Radio Network

Steve Hillard President, CEO, Council Tree Communications

Priscilla Hill-Ardoin Senior VP, Regulatory Compliance, SBC

David Honig Executive Director, Minority Media and Telecommunications Council

Jamie Howard COO, BigBand Networks, Inc.

Julia Johnson President, NetCommunications

Ginger Lew CEO, Managing Director, Telecommunications Development Fund

Alfred C. Liggins President & CEO, Radio One

Vonya McCann Sr. VP, Federal External Affairs, Sprint

Francisco R. Montero Fletcher, Heald & Hildreth

Henry Rivera Partner, Vinson & Elkins

Riley Temple Partner, Halprin, Temple

Lauren Tyler Partner, Quetzal/JP Morgan Partners, L.P.

Terdema Ussery President, CEO Dallas Mavericks, CEO HDNet

Alex Wallau President, ABC Television Network

Kelvin Westbrook President, CEO, Millenium Digital Media

Jim Winston President, General Counsel, National Association of Black Owned

Broadcasters

Roscoe Young CEO, COO, KMC Telecom

Information concerning the activities of the Diversity Committee can be reviewed at the Committee's Web site <a href="http://www.fcc.gov/DiversityFAC">http://www.fcc.gov/DiversityFAC</a>.

- FCC -

FCC contacts: Linda Blair (202) 418-2030

Maureen McLaughlin (202) 418-2030