Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 18-290

Released: March 23, 2018

FCC ANNOUNCES WORKING GROUP MEMBERS OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON DIVERSITY AND DIGITAL EMPOWERMENT

GN Docket No. 17-208

Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairman Ajit Pai announces the appointment of members to serve on three working groups of the Advisory Committee on Diversity and Digital Empowerment (ACDDE). These working groups -- Broadcast Diversity and Development, Digital Empowerment and Inclusion, and Diversity in the Tech Sector -- will assist the ACDDE in carrying out its work. The current members of these working groups are identified in the Appendix to this Notice. As previously announced, Chairman Pai has designated Julia Johnson, President, NetCommunications, LLC, to serve as Chair of the ACDDE, and Diane Sutter, President/CEO, ShootingStar Broadcasting, to serve as Vice Chair. Since Chairman Pai first announced the members of the ACDDE, he has appointed Monica G. Parham, Director, Diversity, Inclusion and Talent Consulting, to serve as an additional member of the ACDDE.

The ACDDE is organized under, and operates in accordance with, the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act.² ACDDE's mission is to provide recommendations to the FCC on how to empower disadvantaged communities and accelerate the entry of small businesses, including those owned by women and minorities, into the media, digital news and information, and audio and video programming industries, including as owners, suppliers, and employees. In addition, the ACDDE will provide recommendations regarding how to ensure that disadvantaged communities are not denied the wide range of opportunities made possible by next-generation networks.³

¹ FCC Announces the Membership, First Meeting and Docket Number of the Advisory Committee on Diversity and Digital Empowerment, GN 17-208, DA 17-857 (Sept. 8, 2017).

² Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. App. 2.

³ ACDDE held its first meeting on September 25, 2017, at FCC Headquarters in Washington, DC. Comments to the ACDDE may be filed in GN Docket No. 17-208, in the FCC's Electronic Comment Filing System, ECFS, at www.fcc.gov/ecfs.

More information about the ACDDE is available at https://www.fcc.gov/advisory-committee-diversity-and-digital-enpowerment. You may also contact Jamila Bess Johnson, the Designated Federal Officer for the Advisory Committee on Diversity and Digital Empowerment, at (202) 418-2608, or Jamila-Bess.Johnson@fcc.gov, or Brenda Villanueva, the Deputy Designated Federal Officer, at (202) 418-7005, or Brenda.Villanueva@fcc.gov.

- FCC -

APPENDIX

WORKING GROUP MEMBERSHIP OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON DIVERSITY AND DIGITAL EMPOWERMENT

* indicates a member of the Advisory Committee on Diversity and Digital Empowerment

Working Group 1: Broadcast Diversity and Development

Chair:

Henry Rivera, Senior Advisor* Emma Bowen Foundation

Members:

Sherman Kizart, Managing Director and Founder* *Kizart Media Partners*

David Honig, Principal and CEO* *JulGlo Productions*

Jannette L. Dates, Dean Emeritus*

Howard University School of Communications

Victor X. Cerda, Senior Vice President* *V-me Media, Inc.*

James L. Winston, President*
National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters

Alfredo Rodriguez, Vice President*

DishLATINO (representing Dish Network)

Ron Busby, Sr., President and CEO* *US Black Chambers, Inc.*

Maria E. Brennan, President and CEO*
Women in Cable Telecommunications

Sara Lomax-Reese, President and CEO WURD Radio

DuJuan McCoy, President and CEO Bayou City Broadcasting

Steve C. Roberts, President and Principal *The Roberts Companies*

Michelle Duke, Vice President National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation

Working Group 2: Digital Empowerment and Inclusion

Chair

Heather Gate, Director of Digital Inclusion*

Connected Nation

Members

Donna M. Epps, Vice President of Public Policy and Strategic Alliances* *Verizon*

Chris Wood, Executive Director* *LGBT Technology Partnership & Institute*

Dr. Nicol Turner-Lee, Resident Fellow, Brookings Institution Center for Technology Innovation – Governance Studies* *Brookings Institution*

Rudy Brioche, Vice President and Counsel, Global Public Policy* Comcast Corporation

Janice Bryant Howroyd, Founder and CEO* *Act-1 Group*

Marie R. Sylla-Dixon, Vice President, Federal Government and External Affairs* *T-Mobile USA*

Fatema Kothari, Vice President* San Francisco Bay Area Internet Society

Mario Lopez, President*
Hispanic Leadership Fund

S. Jenell Trigg, Representative Wireless Internet Service Providers Association

Laura Berrocal, Senior Director, Policy and External Affairs *Charter Communications*

Susan Au Allen, President/CEO U.S. Pan Asian American Chamber of Commerce

Harin J. Contractor, Customer Success Manager *Socrata*

Elizabeth Lindsey, Executive Director *Byte Back*

Anna M. Gomez, Representative *Hispanic National Bar Association*

Working Group 3: Diversity in Tech

Chair:

Marc H. Morial, President and CEO* *National Urban League*

Members:

Gavin H. Logan, Esq., Telecommunications Fellow (Alternate for Marc H. Morial) *National Urban League*

Cindy (Xin) Shao, President*
Asian American Chamber of Commerce

Maurita Coley Flippin, Interim President and CEO* *Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council*

Brian Scarpelli, Senior Policy Counsel* *ACT/The App Association*

Brigitte Daniel, Executive Vice President* *Wilco Electronic Systems, Inc.*

Kathleen Q. Abernathy, Special Counsel* Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP

Dr. Ronald Johnson, Chief Subject Matter Expert – Diversity and Inclusion* *The Wireless Infrastructure Association*

Brooke Oberwetter, Manager, External Affairs *Facebook*

Claudia Jones, Senior Vice President, Public Affairs and Media Relations *AT&T Services, Inc.*

Faith Bautista, President and CEO National Asian American Coalition

Craig James, President and CEO
National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development

Raquel Tamez, Chief Executive Officer Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers

Monica G. Parham, Director*

Diversity, Inclusion and Talent Consulting