Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 17-878 Released September 11, 2017

PUBLIC SAFETY & HOMELAND SECURITY BUREAU ANNOUNCES THE EXTENSION OF THE DISASTER INFORMATION REPORTING SYSTEM TO EIGHTEEN COUNTIES IN GEORGIA AND THREE IN ALABAMA

Disaster data collection now covers all of Florida, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, and parts of Georgia and Alabama

The FCC in coordination with the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is extending the Disaster Information Reporting System (DIRS)¹ data collection area in connection with Hurricane Irma to include **eighteen counties in Georgia and three counties in Alabama**.² With this Public Notice, DIRS data collection in connection with Hurricane Irma now covers all of Florida, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, and parts of Georgia and Alabama.

The Commission requests that communications providers that provide service to any areas listed below expeditiously submit and update information through DIRS regarding, *inter alia*, the status of their communications equipment, restoration efforts, and power (*i.e.*, whether they are using commercial power or back-up power). Communications providers can accomplish this by accessing DIRS at https://www.fcc.gov/nors/disaster/. Providers that have not previously done so will be asked to first provide contact information and obtain a User ID when they access DIRS. There is a link on the login page that will allow them to obtain the User ID and password. If a user does not remember his/her password, he/she should use the forgotten password link on the login page.

Communications providers are reminded that for providers that participate in DIRS, the separate Network Outage Reporting System obligations are suspended for the duration of the DIRS activation with respect to outages in the counties where DIRS has been activated. **Reports are requested beginning at 10:00 a.m. on September 12, 2017, and every day after that by 10:00 a.m. until DIRS is deactivated.**

¹ DIRS is a voluntary, web-based system that communications providers, including wireless, wireline, broadcast, cable and Voice over Internet Protocol providers, can use to report communications infrastructure status and situational awareness information during times of crisis.

²The FCC has already released a DIRS activation public notice, *see* DA 17-850 (rel. Sept. 5, 2017), and two DIRS extension public notices, *see* DA 17-862 (rel. Sept. 7, 2017) and DA 17-869 (rel. Sept. 10, 2017), in connection with Hurricane Irma. *See* https://www.fcc.gov/irma.

Communications providers that serve an area listed below and that have already provided contact information in DIRS will be sent an e-mail requesting that they provide the above-referenced status information through DIRS. For any communications providers that have not already logged onto DIRS to input their contact information, the Commission encourages them to do so as soon as possible.

FULL LIST OF COUNTIES OF INTEREST FOR THIS DIRS ACTIVATION NOW INCLUDES:

Alabama: Geneva, Henry, Houston

Florida: Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Brevard, Broward, Calhoun, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, Columbia, Desoto, Dixie, Duval, Escambia, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Glades, Gulf, Hamilton, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Holmes, Indian River, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Lee, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Manatee, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Nassau, Okaloosa, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Santa Rosa, Sarasota, Seminole, St. Johns, St. Lucie, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Volusia, Wakulla, Walton, Washington

Georgia: Baker, Brooks, Camden, Charlton, Clinch, Colquitt, Decatur, Early, Echols, Glynn, Grady, Lanier, Lowndes, Miller, Mitchell Seminole, Thomas, Ware

Puerto Rico: Aguada, Aguadilla, Aguas Buenas, Aibonito, Anasco, Arecibo, Arroyo, Barceloneta, Barranquitas, Bayamon, Cabo Rojo, Caguas, Camuy, Canovanas, Carolina, Catano, Cayey, Ceiba, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerio, Corozal, Culebra, Dorado, Fajardo, Florida, Guanica, Guayama, Guayanilla, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Hatillo, Hormigueros, Humacao, Isabela, Jayuya, Juana Diaz, Juncos, Lajas, Lares, Las Marias, Las Piedras, Loiza, Luquillo, Manati, Maricao, Maunabo, Mayaguez, Moca, Morovis, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Penuelas, Ponce, Quebradillas, Rincon, Rio Grande, Sabana Grande, Salinas, San German, San Juan, San Lorenzo, San Sebastian, Santa Isabel, Toa Alta, Toa Baja, Trujillo Alto, Utuado, Vega Alta, Vega Baja, Vieques, Villalba, Yabucoa, Yauco

U.S. Virgin Islands: St. Croix, St. John, St. Thomas

All FCC releases regarding Hurricane Irma may be found at https://www.fcc.gov/irma.

For further information, please contact:

John Healy (215) 847-8094, john.healy@fcc.gov Julia Tu (202) 418-0731, (202) 321-4399 (cell), julia.tu@fcc.gov Michael Caiafa (202) 418-1311, (202) 277-5690 (cell), michael.caiafa@fcc.gov David Ahn (571) 232-8487 (cell), (202) 418-0853, david.ahn@fcc.gov