Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 17-328

Released: April 6, 2017

FCC ANNOUNCES THE MEMBERSHIP AND FIRST MEETING OF THE BROADBAND DEPLOYMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

GN Docket No. 17-83

This Public Notice serves as notice that, consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee Act,¹ Federal Communications Commission (FCC or Commission) Chairman Ajit Pai has appointed members to serve on the Broadband Deployment Advisory Committee (BDAC). The BDAC will hold its first meeting on **Friday**, **April 21**, **2017**, **beginning at 10:00 am**, in the Commission Meeting Room at FCC Headquarters, located at 445 12th Street, SW, Room TW-C305, Washington, DC 20554. Notice of this meeting will be published in the Federal Register.

Chairman Pai has designated Elizabeth Pierce, Chief Executive Officer of Quintillion Subsea Operations, LLC, and Quintillion Networks, LLC (Quintillion), to serve as Chair of the BDAC, and Kelleigh Cole, Director of the Utah Broadband Outreach Center in the Utah Governor's Office of Economic Development, to serve as Vice Chair. A full list of BDAC members is attached to this Public Notice.

In addition, the Chairman has identified five working groups that will assist the BDAC in carrying out its work:

- Model Code for Municipalities.—Douglas Dimitroff of the New York State Wireless
 Association will serve as Chair of this working group, and the Honorable Sam Liccardo,
 Mayor of San Jose, California, will serve as Vice Chair.
- Model Code for States.—Kelly McGriff of Southern Light will serve as Chair of this working group, and the Honorable Karen Charles Peterson, Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable, for the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners will serve as Vice Chair.
- Competitive Access to Broadband Infrastructure.—Ken Simon of Crown Castle will serve as Chair of this working group, and Brent Skorup of the Mercatus Center at George Mason University will serve as Vice Chair.
- Removing State and Local Regulatory Barriers.—Robert DeBroux of TDS Telecom will serve as Chair of this working group, and Kim Keenan of the Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council will serve as Vice Chair.
- Streamlining Federal Siting.—Jonathan Adelstein of the Wireless Infrastructure Association will serve as Chair of this working group, and Valerie Fast Horse of the Coeur d'Alene Tribe will serve as Vice Chair.

The selection of additional members for BDAC working groups remains in progress, and final selections will be announced at a later date.

¹ 5 U.S.C. App. 2.

The primary agenda of the BDAC's first meeting will be to introduce members of the Committee, set out initial assignments, and provide more information about the working groups. The BDAC will also begin discussing how to accelerate the deployment of broadband by reducing and/or removing regulatory barriers to infrastructure investment.

The BDAC meeting is open to the public. The FCC will accommodate as many attendees as possible; however, admittance will be limited to seating availability. The Commission will also provide audio and/or video coverage of the meeting over the Internet from the FCC's web page at www.fcc.gov/live. Open captioning will be provided for this event. Other reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities are available upon request. Requests for such accommodations should be submitted via e-mail to fcc504@fcc.gov or by calling the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau at (202) 418-0530 (voice), (202) 418-0432 (TTY). Such requests should include a detailed description of the accommodation needed. In addition, please include a way for the FCC to contact the requester if more information is needed to fill the request. Please allow at least five days' advance notice for accommodation requests; last minute requests will be accepted, but may not be possible to accommodate.

Members of the public may submit comments to the BDAC in the FCC's Electronic Comment Filing System, ECFS, at www.fcc.gov/ecfs. Comments to the BDAC should be filed in GN Docket No. 17-83.

More information about the BDAC is available at https://www.fcc.gov/broadband-deployment-advisory-committee. You may also contact Brian Hurley, Designated Federal Officer (DFO) of the BDAC, at brian.hurley@fcc.gov or 202-418-2220; or Paul D'Ari, Deputy DFO, at paul.dari@fcc.gov or 202-418-1550.

BROADBAND DEPLOYMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Brian Hurley, Designated Federal Officer Paul D'Ari, Deputy Designated Federal Officer

Chair:

Elizabeth Pierce, Chief Executive Officer *Quintillion*

Vice Chair:

Kelleigh Cole, Director, Utah Broadband Outreach Center *Utah Governor's Office of Economic Development*

Members:

Jonathan Adelstein, President and Chief Executive Officer Wireless Infrastructure Association
*Chair: Streamlining Federal Siting

Allen Bell, DOT, Joint Use and Franchise Manager, Georgia Power Company *Southern Company*

Chris Bondurant, Assistant Vice President, Construction and Engineering Operations *AT&T Mobile*

Elizabeth Bowles, President and Chairman of the Board *Aristotle*

Robert DeBroux, Director, Public Policy and Federal Regulatory Affairs *TDS Telecom*

*Chair: Removing State and Local Regulatory Barriers

Douglas Dimitroff, Partner, Phillips Lytle LLP New York State Wireless Association *Chair: Model Code for Municipalities

David Don, Vice President, Regulatory Policy *Comcast*

Valerie Fast Horse, Information Technology Director Coeur d'Alene Tribe
*Vice Chair: Streamlining Federal Siting

Jaime Fink, Chief Product Officer *Mimosa Networks*

Marc Ganzi, Chief Executive Officer, Digital Bridge Holdings LLC ExteNet Systems

Carlos Gutierrez, Deputy Director, Legal and Policy Affairs LGBT Technology Partnership & Institute

Michael Hain, General Manager and Chief Technology Officer *Nittany Media*

Betsy Huber, President *National Grange*

Marc Hudson, Chief Executive Officer *Rocket Fiber*

Kim Keenan, President and Chief Executive Officer Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council *Vice Chair: Removing State and Local Regulatory Barriers

The Honorable Sam Liccardo, Mayor City of San Jose, California
*Vice Chair: Model Code for Municipalities

Geoffrey Manne, Executive Director *International Center for Law and Economics*

Jim Matheson, Chief Executive Officer National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

Kelly McGriff, General Counsel Southern Light
*Chair: Model Code for States

Milo Medin, Vice President, Access Services *Google Fiber*

Brian Mefford, Chief Executive Officer Connected Nation Exchange

The Honorable Karen Charles Peterson, Commissioner Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners *Vice Chair: Model Code for States

Dr. John Saw, Chief Technology Officer *Sprint*

Ken Simon, Senior Vice President and General Counsel Crown Castle

*Chair: Competitive Access to Broadband Infrastructure

Brent Skorup, Research Fellow, Technology Policy Program Mercatus Center, George Mason University
*Vice Chair: Competitive Access to Broadband Infrastructure

Larry Thompson, Chief Executive Officer, Vantage Point Solutions *National Exchange Carrier Association*

Christopher Yoo, Professor, University of Pennsylvania